May 21

Been Injured In A Rideshare Accident? Here’s What You Need To Know

Tags: , ,
Spread the love

Jupiter and Fort Pierce residents will often rely on Uber or Lyft to get them where they need to go. The plus is that these ride sharing services have caused drunk driving to decrease in South Florida, but there are other concerns that need to be considered. Jupiter and Fort Pierce residents who are injured in ride-sharing accidents do not always know the next step to take.

ridesharing-car-accident-attorney

How an Auto Accident Attorney Can Help

 

These drivers are a wonderful resource, but they are not infallible. They are just as susceptible to accidents as any other motorist. Since these sorts of apps are fairly new, an auto accident attorney can offer valuable insight that prospective clients may not be aware of. Let’s take a closer look at the options that are available to Florida residents.

 

The Role of HB221

 

Ever since HB221 was passed, which governs Transportation Network Companies like Lyft and Uber, liability for ride sharing companies has been a topic of discussion for various Florida motorists and their accident attorneys. An auto accident attorney can offer valuable context for those who are confused about these matters. These ride sharing services do not operate under the same legal umbrella as the taxicab companies that most are accustomed to.

Many drivers are not aware of the standards that these drivers are usually held to.  New Florida law requires ridesharing drivers to carry insurance above-and- beyond our state’s standard minimum requirements.  It also requires ridesharing companies to perform background checks on drivers operating in our state.  But whether coverage is available and how much coverage applies depends on the circumstances involved.

How To Handle an Injury That Takes Place During a Ride

 

When providing a ride, ridesharing drivers have to carry at least $1 million for death, bodily injury and property damage.  However, Lyft and Uber drivers are considered to be independent contractors and when they are in accidents that occur in between destinations, this falls into a grey area that can be much more tricky. If a ride share driver is logged in, but not providing a ride/passenger, they must carry at least $50,000.00 in death and bodily injury coverage and $25,000.00 in property damage.  If they are not in the process of taking an Uber or Lyft customer to their destination, and are not logged in, these companies may not have to offer coverage to their drivers.

Because these situations can be difficult to discern, an auto accident attorney can help those who have experienced an accident to make sense of it all. These crashes should be treated like any other accident, even if plaintiff’s car is not actually involved. Collecting contact information, insurance information and names is still a must. Seek medical help as soon as possible as well.

Now that the laws that govern the world of ride sharing are changing, it can be tough for a South Florida resident to know what comes next when an accident takes place. An experienced accident attorney needs to be contacted immediately. The process of navigating the labyrinth insurance policies is not always as simple as it looks. Be sure to speak with a legal representative as soon as an accident of this nature takes place.